WIKIPEDIA: To ‘TheHeartOfIt’

Soviet-style language, sockpuppetry and importuning

One bemused old man’s journey into the bizarre world of Wikipedia

Written by Austin Makinson

Towards the end of June (2022), I sent an email to this website concerning, amongst other things, the myths that continue to surround Peter Wyngarde – the origins of which, more often than not, can be traced back to the online encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

Conclusion of Andrew Humphries detective work:

I have been sleuthing again, because I found some blogs from 2013 and 2014 that mentioned a Kennedy Gardens incident. This was long before the 2018 Mirror article that I said was the original source, but I can see I was wrong about that. Looking at the Wikipedia article again, but going back much further, I can see that a user added the info on 28 Sept 2010, but with no source. It was only removed by another user in about June 2016 who noticed it was not sourced, or not sourced properly. It was then added back in after the Mirror article was published in Jan 2018, but without any citation of The Mirror. The true crime book was already a source for something else, and sloppy editing made it look like it was also being cited for this new info. I tend to agree with Tina [Wyngarde-Hopkins] now, that the earliest trace of this factoid is when a Wikipedia editor added it in 28 Sept 2010. It *appears* to have been sincerely added as a fact, and specific newspapers are mentioned, but without any proper verifiable source or citation. As for The Mirror, I think they probably had a pre-written obit for PW, perhaps prepared when that questionable info had been live on Wikipedia between 2010 and 2016.’

Andrew Humphries

Although I was warned several times about how jealously the Wikipedia PW biog is guarded, and that the chances of me being allowed to contribute, edit, change or challenge any of its content was virtually nil, I decided to chance my arm and join Wikipedia nonetheless. I mean, what’s the worst that could happen? Famous last words…

And so by merely entering a ‘Username’ and not much else, I was suddenly to find myself a fully-fledged Wikipedia “Expert” who was free to post on just about any subject I fancied, regardless of whether I actually had any knowledge about it or not. After locating the Peter Wyngarde biography, I went ahead and added the following into the body of the article:-

As predicted, my contribution was immediately removed by someone calling his or herself ‘Theheartof’ (username), who turned out to be one of the dreaded editors/admins/contributors that oversee the biography. I was duly informed that I’d broken W.P. rules by not “discussing” with (for this read ‘failing to gain the permission of’) the conglomerate that appear to own this particular article. And so a ‘discussion’ ensued between myself and others during the course of which I attempted to put my case across. Not unsurprisingly, the false information about Wyngarde which had been proven to have originated on Wikipedia and latterly seized upon by the tabloids, was explained away as “vandalism”[3], which seems to be the go-to excuse for anything any one of these ‘Contributors’ gets wrong. And yet in spite of this defacement being reposted on Wikipedia for a second time in 2018, I was soon to realise that the chances of anyone actually acknowledging the damage caused by this misinformation was even less likely than my contribution being allowed to stand.

Now that the shutters had come down on any kind of dialogue regarding the Kennedy Gardens myth and my protest ostensibly being stifled, I attempted to debate as to why, when there are so many more credible sources of information out there about Peter Wyngarde, this apparent closed shop still insist on quoting so persistently from a universally condemned “obituary” published by The Guardian three days after Wyngarde’s death in January 2018. Once again, I was shouted down. I was soon to discover why… (see under ‘Suddenly It All Becomes Clear…’ later in this article).

Having basically given up on getting anywhere with both the first and second issues I’d raised, I thought I’d take a look at what else was being discussed in the ‘Talk’ section of the Wyngarde biography. It was then that I came across the following under the title, “1 child” in Infobox:-

I responded as follows:-

Me… apparently

So having had the door slammed in my face twice already for daring to question the misinformation touted by Wikipedia about Wyngarde over the years, I now found myself accused of dishonesty by someone who doesn’t know me from Adam but who, rather hypocritically, had just spent several minutes attempting to absolve W.P. contributors like his/herself of their own sharp practices! And if this wasn’t enough of an affront, out of the blue, and without any kind of provocation or suggestion, I was approached by someone with the username ‘ColinProbert’, who made the following enquiry

When I made inquiries of various friends and family members, I was reliably informed that this phrase is an old pick-up line oft used by gay men when importuning (“cottaging”[4]) back in the days when homosexuality was illegal in the United Kingdom[5]. In the 67+ years I’ve been on this planet, I have never once been propositioned in such a way and to be perfectly honest, I found the approach (on no less than a public forum) nothing short of nauseating. I was beginning to wonder what in the name of God I’d stumbled into with this Wikipedia thing. It was completely and utterly bizarre.

As was my right under Wikipedia ‘law’, I brought these two matters to the attention of one of the ‘Administrators’ who, basically, volunteer to police the W.P. website; act as arbiters and, when disputes arise, employ their powers to remove any offending material. I explained to him/her that, as someone new to Wikipedia, ‘Theheartof’s’ lack of “good faith” and allegation of “Sockpuppetry” had made me feel unwelcome, and regardless of ‘ColinProbert’s’ personal sexual orientation, his uninvited approach had genuinely turned my stomach. As it happened, the ‘Admin’ agreed that ‘Theheartof’s’ assertion was wholly unjustified and entirely groundless, and since “soliciting for sex on Wikipedia is forbidden” (who’d ‘ave thought?!?), both of these crass posts were removed forthwith.

Like the ashen faced thrill seeker who emerges from a shark cage after facing off a Great White, I am relieved that my one and only dalliance with Wikipedia is over. As far as the inner circle behind the Peter Wyngarde biography is concerned, I can’t say I wasn’t warned…

Sorry Peter, wherever you are; I did my best. But as my dear old dad would often say, “Arguing with idiots is like playing chess with a pigeon. No matter how good you are, the bird is going to sh*t on the board and strut around like it won anyway.”

A wise man was my dad.

Suddenly it all becomes clear…

It was only when I presented the screengrabs and other material to be formatted for this article that the “Are you handy?” enquiry was identified as the calling card of none other than Gavin Stewart Gaughan – the disgraced author of the previously cited ‘Obituary’ (The Guardian – 18/01/18[6]. Gaughan was banned from the Official Peter Wyngarde Appreciation Society in 2014 having been cautioned on no fewer than three occasions for posting abuse and for behaving in an age-inappropriate manner. Because it’s now apparent that he’s involved to some degree with the Wikipedia Peter Wyngarde biography, it’s small wonder that his universally condemned ‘obituary’ is still being used as an, a-hem, “reliable source”.

With thanks to Tina Wyngarde-Hopkins for supplying a copy of the above email.

Click below for more about Wikipedia misinformation about Peter Wyngarde…


© The Hellfire Club: The OFFICIAL PETER WYNGARDE Appreciation Society: https://www.facebook.com/groups/813997125389790/

2 thoughts on “WIKIPEDIA: To ‘TheHeartOfIt’

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.